Chocolate Peanut Butter Waffles

Can I just say? Yum. I am such a fan of these. Brian listed these as “Very Good”, so you know they are yummy. I adapted this recipe from this website. Their version is a great starting off point for me but I just added a few changes.

Ingredients (except the milk)

Ingredients (except the milk)
Side note! use any brand of anything you want- but I got Skippy’s natural chocolate peanut butter for that part.

IMG_5993

Almond milk is sweeter than milk so it is yummy in recipes like this. It is also much healthier and has 50% more calcium and additional health benefits than normal milk. Plus its soy free and lactose free for those with allergies.

6 T brown sugar
1 1/2 C flour (I used whole wheat flour and YUMMMM)
2 1/4 t baking powder
3/4 t salt
9 T chocolate peanut butter
1/3 C butter, melted
1 1/2 C almond milk
3 large eggs

FIRST mix your dry ingredients in one bowl (brown sugar, flour, baking powder, salt) make sure there are no big lumps and its a smooth mix.

IMG_5984

NEXT melt up your butter and whisk in the peanut butter together (I tried to stir it normally for a second and the whisk just made life so much easier)

IMG_5985 IMG_5986 IMG_5988

ADD the eggs and the milk to your dry mixture. When that is all nicely mixed THEN add the butter and peanut butter mixture to your main bowl.

IMG_5992 IMG_5993 IMG_5994

Turn on your iron and spray it with a little non stick cooking spray. Let ingredients meld together while the iron heats up.

Let sit 5 min while it heats up and ingredients meld together.

Let sit 5 min while it heats up and ingredients meld together.

When everything is heated- add the correct amount of batter depending on your waffle iron. Mine had a handy cup with a “fill” line. I estimate that it’s about 1\3 of a cup. You should be filling your irons most of the way full but not all the way. If you fill ever nook and crevasse with batter, and close the iron, it WILL over flow and ruin your whole life.

IMG_5999 IMG_6000 IMG_6001

They go great with honey, or just plain syrup, even a little powered sugar, but I think they tasted best with nothing on top (for me) Brian thinks syrup enhances most foods so. Fresh fruit is almost a must here. These filled me up so nicely. I think the whole wheat flower is really what makes it filling. It tastes good and these are actually pretty healthy. This batter mixture made me 5.5 waffles. I went ahead and made all the waffles I could and froze the ones we didn’t eat.

IMG_6004IMG_6002IMG_6003

Leave a comment